New WFF Award at Yale in Honor of Elga R. Wasserman

March 3, 2021

The Women Faculty Forum is initiating the “Elga R. Wasserman Courage, Clarity, and Leadership Award,” a new award to honor a Yale woman every year who has demonstrated tremendous courage, clarity, and leadership in their community service. The award recognizes the important contributions of women faculty and staff who are committed to building equity, diversity, and inclusion and have excelled in articulating and advancing the highest aspirations of the entire Yale community. This award is named after Elga Ruth Wasserman, whose trailblazing career in the University’s administration and extraordinary advocacy on behalf of Yale women in the early years of coeducation continues to inspire future champions of gender equity and diversity in higher education. 


This year, the Women Faculty Forum is thrilled to present the inaugural 2021 Elga R. Wasserman Award to Dr. Stephanie Spangler (MD), Clinical Professor of OB/GYN at the Medical School and the Vice Provost for Health Affairs and Academic Integrity and University Title IX Coordinator. Stephanie has been an invaluable leader in consolidating the University’s Covid-19 task force and strengthening the community’s spirit of cooperation during a time of immense grief and uncertainty. 


Please join the Women Faculty Forum on Wednesday, April 7th at 4:00 PM to celebrate Stephanie’s many achievements during a special (virtual) award ceremony. The ceremony will also include a memorial on Elga Wasserman’s career and legacy. To attend, please register here. 

Where to Find Us

The Yale Women Faculty Forum
205 Whitney Avenue, Suite 301B
New Haven, CT 06511


To manage your subscription to our newsletter, please follow this link.  You will need your NetID.