Steering & Council

Steering & Council members meet monthly to discuss the direction of the organization and the status of women at the University. WFF Steering & Council members for 2019-2020 are:

  • Rene Almeling, Associate Professor of Sociology 
  • Riché Barnes, Dean of Pierson College
  • Jasmina Besirevic-Regan, Assistant Dean for Graduate Education; Lecturer, Sociology and Ethics, Politics & Economics
  • Claire Bowern, Professor of Linguistics
  • Kim Blenman, Associate Research Scientist in Department of Internal Medicine Section of Medical Oncology and Yale Cancer Center
  • Jessica Brantley, Professor of English and Department Chair
  • Elisa Celis, Associate Professor of Statistics and Data Science
  • Lynn Fiellin, Associate Professor of Medicine (in General Medicine)
  • Marta Figlerowicz, Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature and English
  • Inderpal Grewal, Professor of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and of American Studies
  • Margaret Homans, Professor of English and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
  • Dana Karwas, Director of the Center for Collaborative Arts and Media 
  • Paula Kavathas, chair 2013 - 2017; Professor of Laboratory Medicine, Immunobiology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
  • Becca Levy, Professor of Public Health (Social and Behavioral Sciences) and Psychology
  • Priyamvada Natarajan, chair 2011 - 2013; Professor of Astronomy and Physics 
  • Christine Ngaruiya, Assistant Professor of Global Health and International Emergency Medicine 
  • Reina Maruyama, Associate Professor of Physics
  • Mary Moschella, Roger J. Squire Professor of Pastoral Care and Counseling, Yale Divinity School
  • Catherine Panter-Brick, Professor of Anthropology, Health and Global Affairs
  • Irene Peirano-Garrison, Associate Professor of Classics
  • Judith Resnik, Arthur Liman Professor of Law
  • Naomi Rogers, Professor  of History of Medicine and History
  • Nancy L. Ruther, Associate Director of the MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies; Lecturer, Political Science (retired)
  • Kim Shirkhani, Lecturer in English, Co-Course Director, English 120
  • Nina Stachenfeld, Senior Research Scientist in Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences
  • Linn Tonstad, Associate Professor of Systematic Theology, Yale School of Divinity
  • Heather E. Tookes, Professor of Finance, Yale School of Management 
  • Joan A. Steitz, Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
  • Meg Urry, co-chair 2007-2008; Israel Munson Professor of Physics and Astronomy
  • Laura Wexler, co-chair 2008 - 2011; Professor of American Studies and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
  • Amy Wrzesniewski, Michael H. Jordan Professor of Management 
  • Anna Zayaruznaya, Associate Professor of Music 
  • Julie Zimmerman, Associate Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering &  Forestry and Environmental Studies

Where to Find Us

The Yale Women Faculty Forum
205 Whitney Avenue, Suite 301B
New Haven, CT 06511


To manage your subscription to our newsletter, please follow this link.  You will need your NetID.