Current Chair

Dr. Paula Kavathas is Professor of Laboratory Medicine and of Immunobiology.  Currently she is Chair of the Yale Womens Faculty Forum.  She graduated with a B.A. in American Institutions, from the University of Wisconsin, writing her thesis on the role of science in America in the 1960s. She stayed on to obtain her Ph.D. from the Department of Genetics and then spent six years as a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University working with Dr. Leonard Herzenberg and then with Dr. Paul Berg.  During that time she developed a novel approach for cloning genes encoding proteins on the surface of cells. At Yale she has led a research laboratory working in the field of immunology since 1986 and is Associate Chair for Research in the Department of Laboratory Medicine. Dr. Kavathas is a former Chair of the Committee on the Status of Women of the American Association of Immunologists. She regularly serves on review panels for the National Institutes of Health and was a former Chair of the Allergy, Immunology, and Transplantation Study Section. Dr. Kavathas is Director of the Science Education Outreach Program which she founded in 1995.